Under Maintenance

Team Photo

Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Limited

Established: 1995
Address: Bashundhara Residential Area, Dhaka, Bangladesh
President: Sayem Sobhan Anvir
Director in charge: Ismat Jamil Akhand
Position in the last Bangladesh Premier League: Fifth
League Champions: 1 time (2012-13)


Matches Played




Goal Difference


History of the club: In 1995, a group of fans of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman took the initiative to establish a sports club in the name of his youngest son, Sheikh Russell, who was killed by assailants in 1975 when he was only 10 years old. Among the entrepreneurs were Mohammad Shahjahan Kabir, Syed Mohammad Hasan Zaman, HM Rezaul Karim Reza, Mohammad Khalilur Rahman and others. The club was born in August 15, 1995, on the death anniversary of Sheikh Russell, in a small conference at the historical Paltan Maidan. In 1996, the Awami League came to power under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina, and the progress of the Sheikh Russell Krira Chakra gained momentum. They started their journey in the country's football with the Pioneer League in 1996-97. They secured second spot of the third division in 1997. In 2002-03 they were promoted to top tier and stunned big names by becoming runners-up in their first appearance. Since then, they have been playing regularly in the top league. In the 2012-13 season, the team made history by winning the treble title. They won the Premier League, the Federation Cup and the Independence Cup. For the past few years, Sayem Sobhan Anvir, managing director of Bashundhara Group, a renowned industrial group of the country, has taken over the sponsorship of the club.

International success: The Sheikh Russell Sports Club made its AFC debut in 2014 by participating in the AFC Presidents' Cup. After passing the group stage, they entered to the final stage. They participated in the AFC Cup in 2015 and 2017.

Shahedul Alam Shahed

Team Manager

Name: Shahedul Alam Shahed

All Squad